Posted on Car Accidents / What Must I Do After a California Uninsured Driver Collision?
Page Updated 12/09/2021
Approximately one in seven drivers in the United States does not have auto insurance, and California has the most uninsured motorists of any state.
That means if an uninsured motorist injures you in an auto accident, you may have to cover the cost of treating injuries sustained in your accident unless you’ve elected to purchase uninsured motorist coverage.
This type of coverage can be a relatively cheap add-on to most insurance policies (somewhere around $150 total), especially when you consider it can recover lost wages, pay for medical bills, and pay for additional expenditures you encounter.
You’re out driving to pick up your children, or maybe you’re dropping off a friend at the airport, and traffic up ahead comes to a screeching halt, so you slam on the brakes, but the other driver behind you doesn’t react as quickly as you did and he slams into the back of your vehicle. All of a sudden, you realize that you hit your head and may have sustained a concussion. In the following days, your neck hurts, your back aches, and you need urgent medical attention.
Unfortunately, the panic continues when you talk to your insurance company and realize you have to foot the bill for those expenses because the other driver is an uninsured driver. What will you do?
Don’t let this be you. Don’t drive uninsured or underinsured. Opt for coverage against an uninsured motorist whenever possible, and if you get involved in an accident with motor vehicles, contact a personal injury attorney with experience in handling car accident injuries.
While an uninsured motorist who caused an accident may face penalties from the state of California for their failure to acquire insurance, these penalties will not compensate you if they injure you as a consequence of their negligence.
While you have the right to sue the at-fault driver for the damages and take financial responsibility, keep in mind that if a driver does not have insurance, they may lack the financial resources to settle your personal injury claim.
To register a vehicle in California, motorists must carry $15,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person, $30,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident, and $5,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident.
If a driver does not have uninsured motorist coverage, they may still be able to receive some compensation from health insurance or other coverage that California law requires. You can repair your vehicle with comprehensive and collision coverage, and insurance companies will pay for it. Medical payments coverage gives compensation for medical bills up to the limit of your policy.
One way to help protect yourself is to purchase the extra insurance along with your liability insurance coverage when you purchase auto insurance, and we refer to it as uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.
This coverage allows you to buy a level of protection from your own insurance company for any damages or medical expenses and medical payments that may be in excess of the amount that you can recover from the uninsured or underinsured motorist.
If an uninsured driver hits you, you may need legal help.
Contact aggressive personal injury attorneys at Ehline Law Firm to help you understand financial responsibility laws and consider the following steps:
Report the accident to the police and file a police report at the accident scene. Call to notify your own insurance company and let them know about the accident, and then you can seek medical care.
You must call a lawyer to guide you through what to do and not to do after an accident and start building your case immediately. Never admit fault and agree to any settlement without a lawyer.
Establish an attorney-client relationship with Ehline law firm and allow a car accident attorney to represent you to win your car accident case. Use our website contact form for validation purposes only and a call back.