Posted on Car Accidents / Do Police Automatically Send My Traffic Investigation Report To Insurers?

Page Updated 12/06/2021

Do Police Automatically Send My Traffic Investigation Report To Insurers?


When the police conduct an investigation on an accident and complete the accident report, it does not send it to insurers or any insurance company automatically.

However, insurance companies or insurers will ask for accident reports from the police if any party files for a car accident lawsuit or looking to get claims.

Car Accident? Police Report? Ehline Law Makes it Easy

  • Should You Report Your Car Accident to the Relevant Californian Authorities?
  • Why Is a Police Report Important?
  • What Information Can You Find in a Police Car Accident Report?
  • How to Get a Police Accident Report?
  • Should You Report the Accident to Your Car Insurance Company?
  • Contact Ehline Law Today for Your Car Accident

Oftentimes insurance companies tend to delay the claims process to reduce the payouts which work well in their best interest, however, the victim or plaintiff can send a copy of the police report to the insurance company to expedite the claim process.

Should You Report Your Car Accident to the Relevant Californian Authorities?

In situations where there are injuries, property damage (more than $1,000 in damages), and even death, you are liable to report it to the police department within 24 hours of the accident. If you call the police when the auto accident happens, the police will come to the scene and write a report which means you won’t need to submit a written report separately.

In the case where you don’t have any bodily injuries, you must call the police immediately to write a report. In cases of car accidents, you might face internal injuries that you may not realize at the time of the collision. These injuries can lead to symptoms and also in some situations complications that can affect your quality of life.

Spinal cord injuries, brain injuries, and head injuries from auto accidents not only affect vehicle owners but also their families due to piling medical expenses. Besides any injuries, your motor vehicle may also have severe damages which you may not be able to tell from just looking at it, and requires vehicle repairs that may cost more than your estimates.

We recommend that you protect your rights by calling the police immediately to write a report and then request a copy of that report to get your insurance coverage for any damages. Here you will find more information on auto accident reporting rules.

Does an Accident on Your Record Affect Car Insurance Rates?

Many times, individuals do not approach police officers to write an accident report as they’re afraid it may taint their driving record causing high insurance premiums. This is true for any auto accident across the country, however, the duration the accident remains on a person’s driving record varies from state to state. In California, the accident will remain on your driving history for 3 years following the incident.

If your record has a car accident or several auto accidents, this can affect your car insurance rates, however, there are other factors that insurance companies take into consideration to determine the insurance premiums. These are:

  • The severity of the accident
  • The person at fault
  • Any driving violations
  • Age and location
  • Prior driving record

Why Is a Police Report Important?

A police report holds all the necessary information about the car accident which is of the utmost value for the plaintiff or the victim. The insurance companies use the police reports to analyze the report and determine the necessary payouts or compensation.

California works as a no-fault state (comparative negligence) just like New York and some of the other states. This means that multiple insurance companies are liable to pay both parties compensation to help them recover their losses, however, the amount of monetary compensation depends on the degree of fault. A detailed report help establish the degree of fault allowing the insurance company to determine the claim for even an at-fault driver.

A no-fault state has a maximum threshold and in some states reaching $50,000 in economic damages is the maximum an insurance company can pay. But, the victim party can file for additional damages through a personal injury lawsuit.

In this case, the police report provides enough evidence for the victim to file for maximum compensation against the negligent party.

What Information Can You Find in a Police Car Accident Report?

A police officer or the relevant law enforcement officer on duty at the time of the accident will visit the accident scene and note down as much detail as possible in the police report which includes the following:

  • Specifics of the accident involving location, date, and time
  • Details of both the parties in the car accident (Name, address, contact details, insurance number, and more)
  • Any details from any witnesses at the accident scene
  • Property and vehicle damages
  • Any natural forces during the accident (Weather, lighting, road conditions, and more)
  • Pictures of the car accident
  • Any statements from both sides
  • Details of any legal violations
  • The law enforcement officers opinion on the accident

How to Get a Police Accident Report?

Police reports take a bit of time and are not instantaneously available to anyone. Depending on the state you’re in, it might take 14 days for the police reports to be available, however, you might get it sooner or even later than that.

Once the police reports are ready, the parties (the negligent party, own insurance company, other driver’s insurance company, and yourself) can head down to the police precinct nearest to the accident site for the police reports. Usually, the party requiring police reports needs to pay a nominal fee of $22 for the police accident report, however, this also varies depending on the police precinct.

Should You Report the Accident to Your Car Insurance Company?

There are no specific state laws that enforces individuals to report their car accidents to their auto insurance company, however, it is usually within the signed insurance policy with the auto insurance company that requires reporting any type of accident or damage to the car immediately within a few days.

This is a clause that many auto insurance companies use because if you don’t report accidents within a specified period of time, you risk insurance coverages and insurance claims for non-compliance.

Contact Ehline Law Today for Your Car Accident

Got into a motor vehicle accident and it was the other driver’s fault? Are you injured and are looking for compensation for your loss? Contact us now and get a free consultation with one of our car accident attorneys where they will discuss your available legal options for your case.

We’ve had more than 3,000 clients with many successes and positive results. Our legal experts will help establish your claim and fight for your rights against the drivers involved by doing a thorough investigation, getting the official report, and filing a lawsuit so that you get paid for your losses. For more detailed information, call us at (213) 596-9642 today!

Ehline Law Firm - Personal Injury Attorneys, APLC
Attorney at Law
Michael P. Ehline Esq,
Downtown Los Angeles Corporate Offices

Downtown Los Angeles Office
633 West 5th Street #2890
Los Angeles, CA 90071
Navigation

Ehline Law Firm - Personal Injury Attorneys, APLC
Attorney at Law

Michael P. Ehline Esq,

Other Los Angeles County Meeting Places
Long Beach Office

5001 Airport Plaza Dr Ste 210
Long Beach, CA 90815
(562) 731-0668
Directions

West Hollywood Office

8752 Holloway Drive Ste 304
West Hollywood, CA 90069
(424) 666-3944
Directions

Santa Monica Office

201 Wilshire Blvd. Fl 2
Santa Monica, CA 90404
(310) 237-6218
Directions

Torrance/Hermosa Beach Office

3961 CA-1
Torrance, CA 90505
(424) 999-7246
Directions

Marina Del Rey Office

4640 Admiralty Way Ste 500
Marina del Rey, CA 90292
(310) 331-8775
Directions

Beverly Hills Office

509 S Beverly Dr
Beverly Hills, CA 90212
(424) 666-3967
Directions

Glendale Office

655 N Central Avenue
Glendale, CA 91203
(818) 485-2311
Directions

Inland Empire Meeting Places

Rancho Cucamonga Office

8333 Foothill Blvd #200
Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730
(909) 963-0709
Directions

Riverside Office

11801 Pierce St, Ste 200
Riverside, CA 92505
(951) 777-2877
Directions

San Bernardino Office

198 North Arrowhead Ave. #20
San Bernardino, CA 92408
(909) 693-5417
Directions

Orange County Meeting Places

Costa Mesa Office

600 Anton Boulevard #11
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
(949) 891-0357
Directions

Laguna Niguel Office

23046 Avenida de la Carlota, Ste 600
Laguna Beach, CA 92651
(949) 371-8350
Directions

Irvine Office

9180 Irvine Center Drive
Irvine, CA 92612
(949) 207-7193
Directions

Newport Beach Office

5160 Birch St #110
Newport Beach, CA 92660
(949) 891-0127
Directions

Orange Office

333 City Blvd. #17
Orange, CA 92868
714-912-9724
Directions

Other California Meeting Places

Rancho Cucamonga Office

1999 S Bascom Ave, Ste 700
Campbell, CA 95008
(408) 940-3996
Directions

San Francisco Office

50 Francisco Street #460
San Francisco, CA 94133
(415) 684-7688
Directions

Carlsbad Office

1902 Wright Pl, Ste 200
Carlsbad, CA 95008
(760) 517-9022
Directions

Ehline Law Firm - Personal Injury Attorneys, APLC
© 2021 All rights reserved.
Ehline Law Firm Personal Injury Attorneys, APLC